I hate winter, OK?

My search for January sunshine

Those that know me, are well aware that I don’t winter well. I am an African kid. I like the sun on my pale skin. I do not like snow, never have, never will. But I live in Canada.

Usually my survival method is a quick getaway to the Caribbean, and a trip to see my parents in South Africa. But since Covid hit, there has been none of that. To add some extra hardship, I also live alone and isolated. Luckily I have art. Every day I draw, paint, write poetry or work on school assignments and this helps the days pass quicker until the days get longer and warmer again.

I do realize that it is not healthy do wish half my life away, and wish for the other half to slow down (winter/summer) so I work hard on tricking my subconscious into happiness. Today was a blue bird day and I went for a hike (my dog is getting old and also won’t go for walks in the snow).

I made some sketches:

Charcoal on music staff paper, 5×18″
Charcoal on music staff paper, 5×18″
Up the street from my house.

Leave a comment